The teaching of Information Technology is a standard part of the school curriculum in most secondary schools. The same is now happening in primary schools, where children as young as six are learning how to use computers. However, there is a danger that IT skills are being taught at the expense of more basic skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is a statement that IT lessons are taught at the expense of more basic subjects in school, which I agree with.

Educational institutes all over the world pay more attention to learning how to use computers instead of dedicating time to such disciplines as literature and mathematics. The preparation of students for a digital future can lead to negative consequences, especially if basic skills are not assimilated in primary school.

Firstly, main subjects form fundamental intellection. For instance, mathematics develops logic and analyzing ability, literature and language knowledge exercise critical thinking, and another science helps in cognition all the world around us. I mean, that all these disciplines are necessary for the completely development of personality, and they will help in adaptation in the future. Without the above points, the young generation can lose all their abilities for solving problems, which might negatively affect their future, even if they have excellent skills.

Secondly, Information Technologies require a solid foundation of knowledge of algebra, where young ones have to work with data and understand logic. So, if children do not learn it thoroughly in primary school, they will not be able to understand all the boundaries of computer science. Their attainments might not correspond with future requirements.

In conclusion, although it is necessary to evolve the school curriculum in computer programming, do not forget about basic subjects because ignorance can lead to an incapable employer after years. It is important to have a balance between fundamental knowledge and new technologies.