The trend of increased consumer goods production is damaging the natural environment. Why is it still happening? What are the solutions for this situation?

Nowadays, there is a tendency of rising the amounts of goods produced for consumption. This can cause a variety of environmental problems from pollution to deforestation since businessmen could be irresponsible. I believe, that these problems can be mostly tackled by increasing social awareness.

Why do I think that the main reason in neglecting that the owners of the factories have? Most of the economic systems are aimed to make a profit and individuals actions have the same motives. Therefore, they do not maintain a good ecological situation, because it is cheaper and easier to produce goods without thinking about it. The cost of the items manufactured this way has a detrimental effect. For example, there are some issues in Russia with petrol’s production. It causes a water pollution, but it does not concern businesses’ owners, even though some ecological oraganisations try to protest.

In my opinion, this trend will remain the same if we do not try to increase customers’ sensibility. When people stop buying, hazardous productions stop working and harming the ecology. By the mutual effort community with protecting requirements can be created. There are some organisations both national and international functioning to benefit the environment. The tools for it might be social media, strikes or requests. For instance, in several countries green parties are created by activists and they interact with the authorities about amends that might be made.

All in all, this essay advocates the idea that changing people’s buying principles and promoting eco-friendly attitude will lead to decreasing of threats for the environment since factories’ owners will need to answer the demands of the society. This can be done by modern and old methods and should concern every individual.