The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. DO you agree or disagree?

It is argued that there should be fewer working days and more weekdays. This essay strongly disagrees with this idea, as such a trend could lead to various issues in terms of civil and economic factors.

Firstly, there are workers whose roles are vital to the public. Doctors, for instance, are particularly essential. In certain European countries like Iceland or Germany, citizens typically work only four days a week. As a result, many doctors finish their work on Thursday and do not return to work until Monday. In the absence of a physician, unskilled nurses or recent medical school graduates may act as substitutes. This could potentially harm the health of patients receiving treatment over the weekends. For example, in Tajikistan, newborns lose their lives in maternity clinics due to the incompetence of replacement nurses during weekdays.

Moreover, reducing the length of the workweek could have negative implications on the economy. Some professionals are paid based on the hours they work each week. This means that the less an individual works, the lower their salary will be. Take teachers in Uzbekistan as an example: they receive payment for the hours they teach each month. If they only worked four days a week, their income could significantly decrease, putting a major strain on their families’ budgets. This could also impact individuals in other occupations, thus harming the state’s economy.

In conclusion, decreasing the duration of the workweek is not advisable due to the potential adverse effects it could have on people’s well-being, both physically and financially.