There is no doubt that globalisation has benefited the world by bringing together people, business and nations. People who criticise it stand in the way of progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

While some people think that globalisation has only positive sides, I think that it is a controversial trend with significant drawbacks for some countries that have to be acknowledged.

On the one hand, there are many benefits of globalisation on different levels. For business, global market creates numerous opportunities for the distribution of their products, the search for optimal places for manufacturing, and the attracting of talented professionals from anywhere on the globe. On individual level, people take an advantage of the variety of international products available for purchasing, as well as of the possibility of travelling to different countries for a holiday, to seek a well-paid job or a greater quality of life.

However, global product and job market severely harms some nations, because local businesses often lose to international corporations. Small companies usually cannot sell their goods for the same price as their large overseas competitors due to a higher the cost of their production. Consequently, they get closed, and this has detrimental effect on the local employment and the GNP of the country. In addition, many developing nations suffer from emigration, since their citizens relocate to richer countries for better jobs. For instance, Eastern European countries after joining the EU has suffered from demographical crisis, as many of their youth moved to a prosperous Western Europe. In a long term, the closure of local companies and the depletion of human resources caused by globalisation stops economical growth and slows technological development of these countries.

To conclude, although there are merits of globalisation, the existence of some challenges for developing nations does not allow to consider this phenomenon as absolutely beneficial.