There is no need to go out to live performances because people think watching TV is better, Do you agree or disagree?

The development of technology has fostered various innovations. One of which is being able to enjoy entertainment performances at home from one’s laptop. From my point of view, even though watching concerts online offers viewers flexibility and comfort, attending a live performance has more benefits for the audience and performers.

On the one hand, online performances have their own advantages. To start with, people can save a lot of money and time from opting for shows’ online versions. Due to its minimal requirements – a screen-based device and internet connection, people can entertain themselves anywhere and anytime. Moreover, fees for online performances are significantly lower than for live ones, meaning that more people will get to see shows without having to pay handsomely. Furthermore, online performances allow people who cannot come to the show’s venue to still have fun. For example, during the Covid-19 pandemic, a number of performances from Kpop idols were broadcasted online, satisfying their fans’ need for entertainment.

On the other hand, advocates of live performances have grounds to believe that this will be more beneficial to both the artist and the viewer. First, only by watching live can the audience feel the atmosphere of the show, which is a vital factor in a performance’s appeal. Thanks to the crowd effect, people are more likely to gain more satisfaction and delirium compared to watching shows alone at home. A direct effect of this is that people can relieve stress and mental exhaustion at work, while strengthening bonds with their friends when they attend live shows together. As for artists, since a large portion of live shows’ audiences are people who love the atmosphere, therefore, when switching to performing on online platforms, the number of viewers and amount of profit will drop significantly.

All in all, despite the advantages that watching performances online can bring, admiring them in real life offer the audience irreplaceable experiences and performers can gain more handsome profits.