There is no need to go out to see live performances (concerts...) because it is better to see them on the TV or computer screen. Do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, many people suppose that watching live events is unnecessary thanks to the invention of TV and computers. While I accept that enjoying programs through screens brings about some benefits, I do not suppose the role of live performances should be ignored.

On the one hand, it is completely comprehensible that many individuals choose to follow their preferred performances at home. To begin with, tickets for live shows are usually prohibitively expensive, which not everyone could afford. Whereas, using some private applications, or browsing websites costs very little money. Moreover, the home-viewing experience could be far more comfortable because it creates a private space for audiences to do whatever they want, like laughing loudly or talking with their watching partners without irritating others.

Despite the above arguments, I am of the opinion that broadcasting should not be valued over live experiences. Many people are willing to pay a large amount of money only in order to see their idols with their own eyes. For example, to attend Taylor Swift Era Tour in Singapore in 2023, thousands of fans paid out several thousands of dollars for tickets, travelling, accommodations and many other expenses. Secondly, the thrill of being in the same physical space as the artists and listening to their live music is also a major draw for many concertgoers. This will truly allow the audience to indulge in the energy and atmosphere that cannot be replicated through recorded music.

In conclusion, I would argue that both home-watching experience and going directly to shows or concerts have its own perks in some ways.