These days, in many countries, fewer and fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary school

In recent decades, there has been a downward trend toward becoming a teacher, especially in secondary schools. The number of people quitting their teaching jobs or not choosing teaching positions is incredibly increasing day by day. Needless to say, there are some significant reasons for this. In this essay, I will look into these causes and try to find some solutions related to this matter.

one of the important reasons is the long commutes. In recent years, many governments have built far many schools in more remote locations, so that local students can have great access to the most up-to-date education systems. As a result, more teachers are required to be sent to these rural areas, where there is no transportation for teachers. One solution might be carpooling. If teachers carpool, they can save money on commute expenses. Another main cause can be the long hours of teaching. A recent study has indicated that 89% of secondary school textbooks have been changed and replaced by much tougher materials. In this case, teachers need to put much more effort into preparing for their classes and even getting off work much later in the evening. A good solution could be sharing teaching hours between two or three teachers. This leads to teachers not being worn down at the end of the school day.

The misconduct of students is another major cause. In this day and age, students tend to be more aggressive than their previous generations. Research showed that the majority of teachers change their careers due to the bad behavior of students aged 13 and above. In some countries, according to the recent statistics, teachers are even bullied by rebellious students. Imposing much more strict regulations regarding these violent people might be the appropriate solution.

To sum, more and more people are discouraged to choose a teaching position. Although the distance, teaching hours and students’ bad manners could be the possible reasons, carpooling, sharing work and strict rules could be the desired solution.