These days, more and more people move away from the area where they were born and brought up when they become adults. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, there is an increase in the number of individuals that tend to migrate to places far from their born homes as soon as they graduate or when they get their first full-time job. This essay will argue that advantages of this trend outweigh the drawbacks. The essay will first demonstrate how moving away adds up to a person’s life experience and how large cities have better jobs with higher salaries, followed by the primary disadvantages, growing up lonely away from family.

The advantages of leaving a place you were born in and starting to live in a new place far away from your comfort zone are a lot. Firstly, large cities offer a wider job market with many more opportunities available than local towns with also better payments. Furthermore, workplaces tend to have more diversity which allows individuals to meet and benefit from different backgrounds whether in the professional aspects or personal aspects. Another advantage is increasing sense of responsibility and independency. This person is now in control of every single detail in his life which teaches him resilience and management.

On the other hand, this trend has some drawbacks. For example, people who live away from their family and friends feel lonely most of the time and that might lead to depression. Recent studies showed that it is not easy to make new friends and neighbors in large cities and that has led to increase numbers of people suffering from loneliness. Although this is a very serious problem but people now tend to overcome those negative feelings using available communication methods to stay in touch with their loved ones all the time.

To conclude, migrating to new places after growing up has been very popular recently and that is attributed to the abundance of opportunities and benefits of living in larger cities. There are also a few disadvantages to this trend but the advantages seem to outweigh the disadvantages.