These days people are living in 90s or beyond. as a result there is increasing concern about care for elderly. do you think it is the responsibility of the family or should the government be health responsible?

The life expectancy of people has increased to 90 and it poses serious questions about the care for the elderly. It can be seen that two sides are formed to solve this dilemma: while one side states that the family is responsible for the elderly, the other states that the government should be held responsible. This essay will delve into both sides of the discussion.

The fact that families should care for their elderly comes from the premise that “they are our own blood”. In certain Asian countries, it is seen as a duty to care for the elders of the family. This tradition stems from the fact that it is a method to repay whatever sacrifices that the elders may have taken to bring the family where it is today. While it can be considered a more empathetic approach, it is several times easier for a family to care for their loved ones as they know the behavioral traits, the dietary issues and several other physical and mental factors that could pose as a burden if placed in third party care.

However, the cost of living has been increasing tenfold, and the additional cost of caring for the aged members may hamper the finances. This in turn may cause the household to assume that their elders are a burden and that they would be better off without them. This is when the government can step in with some monetary schemes, such as subsidized prices for medical equipment, or perhaps a monthly allowance for the aged. This can be either implemented as a scheme for the families that earn below a certain threshold or as a ‘pension’ for the people above a specific age.

In conclusion, this decision is something that varies from person to person. However families may choose to care for their elders, the government can step in as a ‘shoulder for help’ in terms of financial assistance.