These days people are living in 90s or beyond. as a result there is increasing concern about care for elderly. do you think it is the responsibility of the family or should the government be health responsible?

Nowadays, human life expectancy has increased to 90s or beyond. This has led to a debate about whether the family should provide care or whether it is the authorities’s responsibility. I believe that both families and the government is responsible for the well-being of the elderly.

On the one hand, the role of family for old citizens is crucial for some reasons. Firstly, by being taken care of by their family, the elderly are not only feel much more comfortable but it also meets their mental health demands. Older people tend to love and want to be around their children, so being cared for at home will help them avoid mental illnesses and improve their physical health. Secondly, looking after our old parents can set a good example for children. This will contribute to educate the next generation that they will look after us the same way how we look after our aged parents. Thus, this will be a culture that many generations will practice.

On the other hand, governments should share responsibilities with families. This policy significantly assists vulnerable citizens, especially individuals who are unemployed, homeless, or ridden with disabilities. This will create a favorable condition for the elderly to live without worrying about budget. Additionally, in nursing homes, elderly people can interact with each other and receive regular health checks and care. This is something that not every family in the city can do due to the living conditions and work of their children and grandchildren. This also will avoid from putting finicail burden on children while also being able to take care of their meals and sleep.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that elder generations should be taken care of by both families and governments because they need physical and emotional support but also medical care.