These days, people spend a large amount of money on their physical appearance. Why do people do this? Is this a positive or negative development?

In contemporary times, people accumulate a large number of savings for beauty improvements to be visually younger. This essay will closely examine underlying causes of this tendency before elaborating on why it is a net negative.

Directing expenditure to each person’s appearance becoming popular is deeply rooted in career prospects. In a hyper-competitive labour market, appearance is often highly valued in many non-smokey industries, such as advertisements or music, given that their images are likely to be posted on social media like Facebook and Tiktok and even printed on canvas. Another noteworthy factor is affection from the opposite gender. Countless individuals face physical deterioration in their face or body due to overworking themselves, when these individuals enter the stage of searching for a husband or wife, they tend to improve their beauty. This paves the way for them to be more attractive.

Granted, making use of aesthetic surgery or beauty tools may yield some temporary benefits. When people become more attractive and younger, they can effortlessly apply for jobs in today’s ever-evolving society, where beauty is prioritized the most. This, in turn, offers workers with lucrative career opportunities and promotion chances in the long run. However, I am resolutely convinced that this trend, when spreading worldwide, undoubtedly erodes cultural diversity. For example, Vietnamese people engage in the pursuit of beauty, noise lifting or lip pump, making them similar to a certain model, which ultimately deprives them of unique characteristics. This undermines the cultural identity of each country in the future.

In conclusion, while career chances and opposite gender’s affection may stimulate people to immerse themselves in beauty activities, I maintain that cultural unique features play more vital roles, constituting a negative development.