These days people spend more and more time at work and less time at home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Increasing standards and high-living costs lead people to earn more. Nowadays, most individuals become addicted to their work, spending longer hours compared to the time being at home. While this phenomenon has several benefits, it is not without demerits.

One clear advantage of this trend, spending more time at work means increased financial stability. Employees who work longer hours often get promotions, and monetary rewards, which improve their standards of living. For instance, with greater income, people can afford better housing, education as well as quality healthcare for their families. Moreover, being deeply involved in work enable people to enhance their professional skills and career satisfaction, which is more advantageous for ambitious laborers, who value personal recognition and quality life. Take IT specialists as an example, who stay longer hours at a workplace to make more money to ensure better lifestyle.

Having said that, there are possible drawbacks of overworking. First and foremost, spending excessive amount of time at work would result in affecting negatively on work-life balance and reducing productivity at a workplace. In this sense, confronting with health problems is not far from potential. To be more exact, health issues like emotional and physical fatigue, stress or burnout are common among overworked workers. Furthermore, long working hours also has side effects on family relationships. For instance, parents who work longer could struggle to bring up their children properly. In this point, children also suffer from lack of parental guidance and emotional support that are crucial at younger age. This can be seen in lower academic performance and excessive exposure to digital devices.

To sum up, while pros of extra working hours include high wages, career growth, and, ultimately, quality life, poor work-life balance, health problems, and putting risk on family bonds are major disadvantages.