These days very fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary schools. What are the reasons for this and how this problem can be tackled?

In this day and age, the number of people who choose to become a teacher have a downward trend, especially in secondary education. From a personal perspective, this is primarily due to the salaries and bad behaviors of students which can be mitigated by raising the teacher’s wages.

On the one hand, the primary reason for the decline in secondary teachers is low salaríe compared to the workload. The secondary teacher is a demanding job that they have too much work to do and tackle with paperwork. In addition, the secondary students are in their puberty which often behave really badly at school and disobey or be rude to their teacher. Teachers have to stay up late and work overtime to finish their tasks which discourages young people to become a teacher. For example, when comparing the wage and the workload of secondary teachers and primary or high school teachers, it is quite obvious that secondary teachers have to face up to a large amount of workload with lower salaries.

The alarmingly low number of secondary teachers required immediate action from the authorities. Firstly, the authorities should raise the teachers’ wages which encourages teachers to pursue this career and teachers also have a more lucrative and stable income. But the disadvantage of this solution is the government may lack of finances to solve this problem, Secondly, the government should launch a nationwide publicity campaign with some advertisements on TV to show the positive sides of teaching job which can motivate teachers.