These days very fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary schools. What are the reasons for this and how this problem can be tackled?

Teaching is the greatest act of optimism. Unfortunately, nowadays more and more people are reluctant to join teaching as a profession, especially in the higher schools. This essay will highlight the principal causes and the solutions to resolve them.

At the present time, the number of people who are willing to become an educator has been declining due to numerous reasons such as low income and teachers’ dissatisfaction with their work. First and foremost, employers have more job openings offering higher salaries than instructors’ earnings than ever before. Educators are being paid much lesser, especially in public schools as compared to other jobs in the private sector. For example, an adult who works as a dentist in a private hospital can earn at least twice as much as a secondary school teacher. Furthermore, another problem is that current educators do not seem satisfied from their occupation due to having a heavy workload and as a result they are now unlikely to encourage young people to enter a profession that is as challenging as teaching has become.

However, by taking several measures, these issues can be solved. One practical solution to this problem is that the government can increase the wage of educators. Raising the minimum salary for teachers will significantly encourage people to take up teaching as a profession. Another initiative is to reduce the teachers’ workload, schools should employ assistants to help the tutors. Also it is necessary to explain to students that teaching is one of the most important and respected professions. By performing these resolutions, people are more likely to work as teachers. In other words, a person who is passionate about teaching will be motivated to work harder and contribute to the community.

To conclude, although fewer and fewer people want to become educators because of inadequate income and burdensome workload, such challenges can be solved with proper planning. In this regard, the government plays an important role to encourage the public to become educators.