Today foods travel thousands of miles from the farm to the consumers. Why is this? Is it a positive or negative trend?

In recent years, in an era characterized by trasportation of products, it has become increasingly common for food, fruits, vegetables and grains to be transported thousands of kilometers from farms to consumers. There are several reasons why this is so.While others argue that this is positive development, I still believe that it is a negative trend because of some reasons, such as environmental problems and product quality.

On the one hand, the main reason why this condition could be carried out is globalization and modernization food industries. With the increase in consumers’ demands for various and exotic foods, suppliers deliver their product to different shops, such as supermarkets and small product markets from all over the world. Furthermore, as a result of modernizing transport systems, it has been easy to supply more and more products to variety of shops on time.

On the other hand, certain cases need to be taken into account. One of the major negative developments is affecting environment. From an ecological perspective, during delivery foods thousands of miles from the farms, some environmental pollutions can appear. For example, as a result of increasing greenhouse gas emissions and raw rubbishes, air pollution may appear and this causes global warming. Also, carbon emissions from transportation vehicles and requiring a high amount of energy for transporting food products over long distances contribute to environmental issues and these accelerate the practice again.

Moreover, delivery food products over long distance affects the quality of product too. Many different types of foods, specifically, fruits and vegetables are picked before they are fully ripe in order to endure the rigours of over long distances. In consequences, they may lose their flavour and the number of nutritions.

In conclusion, I have mixed opinions about discussed topic and certain cases could be true for various circumstances. That is why holding a firm opinion it is more difficult than it seems and balance should be priority in my view.