Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

The debate sorrounding the high sales of popular consumer goods guided by the increasing power of advertisement and publicity instead of the real needs of the society in which they are sold is particularly discussed. Personally, I totally agree with this statement due to many reasons.

On the one hand, especially these days where technology has reached a level of diffusion where almost every person has a television in his house, society has a much major interaction with advertisement compared to the past. This interaction is also increased thanks to smartphones and social media. In fact, if everyone tries to watch a video on Youtube or other platforms, usually two or even three advertisement pop out and they’re even unskippable. Such continous interaction will inevitably effects people’s minds, leading them to buy some goods or products that they don’t really need and that, in some cases, have also a bad quality.

On the other hand, I must recognize that companies need to convince people to buy their products and publicity is the first and main mean through which they can achieve their goal. In addition, there are numerous cases in which people have found some useful and high quality products that they desperately needed only because they watched an advertisement on TV.

In conclusion, I believe that, despite some cases, the power that publicity gained must be reduced or controlled and that people should try to think more and get well informed before buying a product, if they don’t want to risk loosing their money on low quality goods.