Today's schools should teach their students how to survive financially in the world today. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Today’s educational istitutions should provide children financial education. In my view, it would be beneficial both for having a second salary besides the main job and to be more responsible about how money are spent.

It is widely recognised that the average time between two jobs is shrinking for the vast majority of workers, leading to greater uncertanties about the salary. As a result of the lack of education about the economy, employees do not know how to get a second revenue to contrast the mentioned salary’s instability, worsening their lifestyle. It is clear then, that teachers could make a substantial difference in our society, just by training pupils about how to get a second salary investing their money effectively, for example in the stock market.

Another argument in favour of schools teaching how to manage money, is that new frauds and financially irresponsible tools are arising, which can be a threat to uneducated consumers. The lack of formal money management teaching, can therefore ease debt collection due to the formers. As an instance, credit cards are becoming a popular way to purchase products both online and in physical stores. The feature of spending how much you want, without caring about the amount of money in your bank account, enhances the probability, for those who lack of financial education, of getting unwanted debts. However, many believe that culture should be the only focus of educational institutions. I strongly disagree, as children will eventually grow up without any knowledge about how the economy works, making them more exposed to the previously mentioned problems.

In conclusion, the ability of earning money beside the main job and financial awareness are key skills that should be trained since childhood in order to avoid major money related issues later in life.