tudents perform better in school when they are rewarded rather than punished. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Find the sample answer to this question here.

It is argued that students perform better at school if they are rewarded rather than being punished. I completely agree with this statement as being rewarded has more benefits for the students as opposed to drawbacks. First of all, learning progress is not linear.

Some concepts may be difficult to learn for the first time and hence the students will make mistakes, struggle to understand and conceptualize it first time round. During this phase it is crucial for the teachers to be patient and assist the student with their coursework. Furthermore, if any progress is rewarded the student will be motivated to push themselves to perform better. Whereas, if they are punished during the first stages they are likely to be discouraged from asking for help as well as trying their best to do well.

Secondly, punishing is likely to lead the students to be dishonest about their situation. To hide their difficulties they may resort to unfaithful measures such as cheating and lying about their marks. This is due to the fear instilled from making mistakes. On the other hand, if they are rewarded for their progress and attempts to do better, they are going to be honest about their situation and seek assistance whenever in need.

In conclusion, learning process is not linear and it is vital for the students to learn to seek help whenever needed as well as be honest about their situation therefore, the benefits of rewarding a child when making progress outweigh the drawbacks.