Violence in playgrounds is increasing. However, it is important that parents should teach children not to hit back at bullies.

It is true that parents sometimes face the challenge of how to teach their children to handle bullies effectively. While some agree that children should avoid hitting back, I disagree children should never hit back, as standing up to bullies can help children build confidence and reduce the emotional damage of bullying.

On the one hand, allowing children to stand up for themselves can be an effective deterrent. When bullies realize that their victims are willing to defend themselves, these individuals may reconsider before continuing the behavior. By this, the bullies will act more friendly and this approach will reduce the crime rate in schools and other areas. Furthermore, self-defense helps children feel empowered and less socially isolated, reducing frustration and boosting self-esteem. For example, when children are taught to stand up to a bully in a respectful but firm manner, they may feel more confident and in control of the situation and this approach brings about engagement in group activities, building friendships, and improving their self-esteem.

On the other hand, victims should notice the difference between self-defense and aggression because they can lead to serious consequences like a prison sentence or even committing a crime in adulthood. Therefore, it is crucial to teach children to distinguish between self-defense and retaliation like protecting themselves without resorting to unnecessary aggression, which might increase the risk of committing a crime later on. Additionally, the authorities should interfere as quickly as possible so the situation cannot become more serious. For instance, if a teacher notices a group of students surrounding and trying to attack another child during lunch break, stepping in immediately can prevent the bullying from escalating to physical aggression, this intervention not only prevents harm but also sends a strong message that such behavior is unacceptable, discourage further incidents.

In conclusion, knowing to fight back to protect themselves is not bad but children must understand what is self-defend and what is out of control.