We live in a world of technology these days. While the internet brings with it clear advantages, the problems in terms of control and security of information outweighs the advantages.

Many people argue that technological development causes difficulty in their daily lives in case of the privacy of sensitive data. I partially disagree with this statement and consider that facing security issues is not an unpreventable circumstance.

Nowadays, humans encounter cyberattacks that aim to steal users’ private information and then utilize it to perform illegal actions. Personal information for creating social media accounts is openly sold by hackers on websites, and the data is visible to any person from any country. For example, according to several studies related to security gaps in social media applications, users from various countries receive multiple calls from unknown mobile numbers, and professionals in the cybersecurity field express that this stems from the availability of account information, such as mobile number and email, on the internet.

Fortunately, technology companies have taken some measures to address the security gap. The applications have upgraded their security performance by implementing new authentication methods, so users can easily activate these features by changing the software settings. To illustrate, Meta Corporation, which includes a lot of popular social platforms, has added two- step authentication where the face and the mobile number are required to protect its trustworthiness. Moreover, people are eager to use VPN for data protection when entering a website that may contain a potential hazard for private data these days. For instance, internet users prefer to use VPN when they need to access information on a website that they have not seen before. When they turn on the app, the server address is changed, making it impossible for hackers to acquire data.

To sum up, I contemplate that several problems come along with innovation in technology in terms of data management, but these issues can be tackled by implementing useful tools on personal devices.