What are the advantages and disadvantages of shopping online compared to shopping in physical stores.

As societies evolve, the topic of online shopping is becoming increasingly pertinent. From the traditional physical stores as individuals line up to pay for their products, to the highly convenient online shopping with just few clicks of a button, consumers can already buy their needs and wants. With the latter relies on convenience and time-saving, we cannot also deny the fact that it also has drawbacks. In light with this conversation, this essay will provide the pros and cons of online shopping in comparison with physical stores.

To commence, online shopping remains one of the modality that individuals use when it comes to their phones and computers. Individuals can easily scroll their gadgets, check certain products according to their liking, add to their carts, check out, and that’s about it. Online shopping leans on convenience and saving the consumers’ time and effort comparing to the traditional and time-consuming physical stores. For instance, applications such as Shopee, Lazada, and Temu are one of the most popular online shops that most social media users utilize. With their reliability and easy access, their popularity soar and makes people’s lives easier. After a few days, delivery will be completed without any hassle and breaking a sweat from driving from one place to another.

Juxtaposed to the aforementioned, shopping with the use of online platforms also has drawbacks that needs to be recognized. As technological advancements emerge, people use this opportunity for scams and false advertisements. As the naked eye is easy to please, customers easily gets fooled with affordable prices and high quality. This affects the digital literacy of the society, leading to them not receiving their products due to scams and black propaganda. To strengthen this statement, the amount and cases for scams and false products is increasing as people would rely on cheap prices along with “eye-catching” descriptions of the product’s quality. With that, the cases are easy to recognize but the perpetrators and scammers would not easily get caught as they are protected by a large encapsulation of social media and high amount of users of it.

To summarize things up, the influence of online shopping could not be denied because of its help with the society, making everything easier and accessible. However, as the world grapples with scams and false advertising, the credibility of online shopping is being questioned. The best thing to do is to balance the usage of both and depend on how convenient these two modalities are for your daily life.