When designing building, the intended use of the building should be taken in into account as important rather than the outward appearance? To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that, external appearance weighs more than the actual purpose of constructing the building. I completely disagree with this opinion and think that the main use of the building which is constructed for should be taken into consideration rather than outward appearance.

People nowadays are more into impressing others rather than developing their selves and that goes for constructing buildings as well. I believe that, purpose of constructing a building is to server the main functionalities in the their respective fields. In general, while people building a house, they priorities having multiple bedrooms rather than unique design which looks great on the outside however, it obstructs the interior design of another room. Focusing more on external appearance, will definitely attract a set of audience but it would not be much help as the house intended purpose is to stay safe with their family members or friends. For example people liked to have a garage instead of having a distinct path way which takes up a lot of space, as many people try to maximize the usage of the materials they own.

While designing a building, firstly, we try to design the layout rather than exteriors. As building can cost up to one or two decades of our savings, we try to use the area wisely. It important to serve the main functionality of the building which can be like hospital, government buildings and schools to name a few. The best example is old government schools, where the main intension of constructing the building was to provide education rather than impressing the strangers to join the school. They preferred to have great class rooms rather than painting the building or design it. Another great example is government hospitals which may not not appealing from the outside but definitely save millions of lives.

In summary, having desire to decorate the exterior part should be second priority to the person rather first priority should be to serve the intended purpose of their respective building.