When designing building, the intended use of the building should be taken in into account as important rather than the outward appearance? To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As per my opinion, designing a building’s outward manner is equally important as designing for its intended use. If only the intended use of a building were designed, then its external design would not be focused on. As outward appearance indicates the building’s status and people feel enthusiastic while leaving there, the external design is made more attractive to attract people toward the site.

I would like to elaborate on this: the main aspect is to design the building for its intended use because some designers only focus on the exterior part, which consumes funding provided for main aspects, and important parameters are left behind. This leads to a lack of services required in the internal building, and only the exterior building looks beautiful. Whereas, equal distribution should be done while designing both, considering all aspects, amenities, and features required. There is a great example of the Burj Khalifa located in Dubai, which indicates that both internal and external appearances are well maintained and showcase an ideal building in construction all over the world. If intended use is well focused on and done properly, then outward appearance can also be done better. As the outward appearance is the identity of the builder, it is equally important.

This concludes that both aspects should be equally prioritized so that requirements are fulfilled and completed. And not only focused on, but also the quality of the building design should be appropriate. It should be ideally designed for all people. At the time of designing, every aspect and the importance of that particular parameter should be noted and addressed.