While many families are keeping pets at home, some people fear that pets can harm children. What threats can pets cause to children? How to minimize those threats?

In recent years, there has been a significant number of households keeping pets at home, while some people are concerned that pets can have harmful influences on children. This essay will present some risks pets may cause to children and the remedies to this problem.

There are several reasons why individuals think that these kinds of animals would have bad impacts on children. First, adopting pets may negatively affect the child’s physical health. Some children can be allergic to pet dander, saliva, or urine which can cause allergic reactions or asthma symptoms. As a result, the youth could suffer from some serious illnesses if close contact with pets, especially for a long time. Secondly, keeping pets at home would lead to distraction from schoolwork. For some children, excessive interaction and play with pets at home could make them spend no time on their homework; therefore, they might gain some underachievement at school, even though they have intellectual faculties.

However, various measures can be adopted to address this problem. To begin with, adults with children being sensitive with pet fur or saliva should think about keeping pets in cages to protect and restrict them. This, as a result, would limit their freedom while interacting with children. Additionally, the child’s distraction could be improved by principles parents encourage their children to follow. For example, the children are just allowed to play with their pets at a certain time such as after finishing their schoolwork or helping parents with housework. Consequently, both parents and their children can benefit from these simple but effective rules.

In conclusion, despite some threats to children’s development caused by pets, there are numerous approaches to address this problem and maintain advantages for children as well as pets.