While many families are keeping pets at home, some people fear that pets can harm children. What threats can pets cause to children? How to minimize those threats?

Although pets are popular in many households, there are concerns about potential dangers to children. My essay will thoroughly analyze some specific risk and propose feasible solutions to this issue.

There are two worrisome risks from pets. To begin with, pets can cause some allergies to children. Normally, allergies usually come from pet fur or saliva. This is because when children play with their pets, they have to touch the pet fur or reach them in many ways. As a result, these pets can cause rashes, itching, or even swelling and pain on the child’s skin. In some cases, if these allergy symptoms are not treated promptly, it can pose a danger to children’s health and cause a number of infectious diseases for them. In addition, bites and scratches are also risks that worth mentioning. Children while playing with pets can be a bit extreme, which leads to the fact that pets can cause some hurts to children. They can bite or scratch children which can cause some skin wounds, and cause bleeding and painful swelling on the spot of the wound.

Two measures of great practically are suggested to alleviate this negative effect. First of all, adults need to ensure the hygiene and safety of their pets before letting them play with children. When picking up any pet, they should fully vaccinate their pets. At the same time, bathe and check your pet’s health periodically. This can help them feel more secure and prevent dangerous infectious diseases. Furthermore, families should educate their children on how to approach and behave with pets appropriately and safely. For example, tell children not to tug on their tails or tease them while they are sleeping or eating. This can help children avoid animal aggression that they can bite or scratch if children disturb them.

In conclusion, pets can pose a number of dangerous risks to children such as allergies, diseases, and some skin injuries if children do not know how to play and behave with animals properly. Therefore, adults before letting children come into contact with pets, they need to ensure that their pets are fully vaccinated, hygienic and must have periodic health checks to avoid spreading infectious diseases. In addition, they need to educate their children how to behave appropriately and safely, avoiding scratches, bleeding or any other serious or minor injuries.