With an increasing population communicating via the internet and text messaging, face to face communication will become a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree?

It is argued that communication through technology is becoming popular among people, while meeting directly is decreasing. In my opinion, I partly agree with this assertment because both methods have pros and cons.

Humans can’t overlook the superiority of digital services in communicating because of their time and cost saving. In this modern society, an employer is living in Vietnam can work for an America company. Not only that, organising a meeting with clients from a distance is not a difficulty anymore thanks to Zoom. These above instances show that no time is wasted on the road (especially when there is congestion), and the extra cost is paid for fuel or flight ticket. That time and money saved from transporting can be invested in other useful works such as increasing the company capital or arranging another meeting with other clients which would have been wasted on moving.

However, face to face communication still plays a significant role in our modern society as its privacy and bonding. For instance, meeting directly for a confidential purpose, or schedule a family reunion, both require face to face interaction. To explain, meeting online requires wifi and transfer signal from one to other parties, so private information can be eavesdropped on or stolen by third parties. Besides, meeting an individual’s beloved parents directly helps strengthen the bonding among them. It is because their thought and feeling are illustrated by both facial expression and verbal language. Therefore, the number of activities cannot be performed through digital technology as it is insecure and lacks connection.

Society reactions through the Internet can save time and money as well, while having conversation directly cannot be replaced because of its privacy and safety role.