With the growing population in cities, many people are living in small homes that do not have outdoor spaces. Is this a positive or negative development?

In this contemporary era, the prevalence of housing problems is undeniable, which attributes to various factors including increased population and urbanisation. Opinions are divided whether living in confined homes with no outdoor areas is beneficial. This essay will elaborate on the pros and cons of this trend and present my personal viewpoint that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.

On the one hand, there are numerous merits of smaller living spaces. Firstly, more opportunities to live in large cities can be created. Houses with confined area are more affordable to the public as they require less resources and land area to be constructed. Therefore, people who have low or middle incomes are able to migrate to big cities for lucrative jobs, which subsequently improves the cities’ workforce and minimizes the problems of homelessness or slums. Moreover, innovative housing designs can be significantly prompted along with strategic planning. For instance, houses are being built vertically instead of horizontally in crowded areas so that they can allow for more inhabitants and enhance the traffic flow. Secondly, a sustainable lifestyle can be promoted among residents. Specifically, spatial limitations mean that wiser choices have to be made. For example, cluster-free environment is apparent in multifunctional and compact apartments since people prioritise quality over quantity in terms of purchasing everyday items such as clothes, foods, or furniture. As a result, this trend can reduce excessive consumption and household waste and contribute to economic or environmental growth.

On the other hand, I believe that it is detrimental and unsustainable to live in such small houses without outdoor areas. Residents can run higher risks of unexpected disasters including infectious diseases or natural disasters. To exemplify this, the COVID-19 has been dramatically widespread due to proximate exposure of individuals to each other. As a result, compact apartments with small areas can become a great source of disease as people are more likely to be exposed to others moving within the living spaces. This argument is also justifiable in cases of wildfires or earthquakes as it is extremely difficult to evacuate from such narrow spaces. Furthermore, living in confined areas poses both physical and mental threats to overall well-being. A dearth of exposure to natural elements can be harmful to individuals, especially aggravating stress levels, solitary, and limited exercise opportunities. This will ultimately diminish the quality of life and promote a sedentary lifestyle among people.

In summation, while the increasing tendency to live in small areas even without outdoor environments can bring some benefits to individuals and the authorities, I firmly contend that its disadvantages bring a myriad of harmful consequences on one’s safety and well-being.