With the growing population in cities, many people are living in small homes that do not have outdoor spaces. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays an increasing number of people live in places with no backyards, gardens or even balconies. I definitely think this is a negative development since outdoor places are essential for one’s well-being and overall life’s fulfillment.

First of all, humans, as species, need to spend time in nature. It is simply unnatural for people to only be indoors. Having no access to fresh air and different weather conditions certainly affects people’s immune systems and health in general. It is well-researched that working in the office all day or staying in an apartment for long periods of time is not sustainable for our bodies. Spending most time indoors can lead to a higher risk of vitamin D deficiency due to the lack of sunlight, with some scientists saying that it can also worsen one’s mental health or even lead to depression.

Secondly, I think that having an outdoor space is very beneficial if you want to explore new hobbies. Gardening is a great example of one of those activities that can bring so much joy into everyday life. It doesn’t have to be complicated – growing basil, cilantro or even little peppers is pretty easy and you can do this with your children. Teaching kids about plants and insects is an exciting way of spending some quality time together. Gardens are also amazing for hosting outdoor dinner parties for your friends and family, especially on warmer evenings. Little things like this have got to stay in our lives to make it meaningful.

In conclusion, I am convinced that living spaces need to have outdoor areas. That way we can prevent certain health issues as well as add more fulfilling activities into our lives. That way people are more likely to stay healthy and be closer to their community.