With the increasing demand for energy sources of oil and gas, people should look for sources of oil and gas in remote and untouched places. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of damaging such areas?

Due to the escalating demand for fuels, some people advocate that we should exploit untouched places for obtaining more resources. This approach definitely help to alleviate the crisis of energy shortage, however, it can also bring the environment with serious destruction, which may outweigh its advantages.

The primary benefit of obtaining nature resources like fossil fuels from untouched areas is providing substantial fuels and energy for manufactural industries, resulting in a boost of economic and improvement of living standards. Fuels and energy are essential resources and are almost omnipresent in every industry. Thus, shortage of fuels may impede development of production, leading to unrest of market. Exploiting natural places is a cheaper and faster way to obtain fuels, as there is no need to concern about disrupting human activities, as well as the expense in land and operations would be lower.

Nonetheless, exploiting natural areas also has disadvantages that should not be neglected. The biggest concern surrounding it is the potential destruction to the nature caused by exploitation. For example, when digging oil from the ground, people may cause damage to the surrounding environment such as wetlands, forests and lake areas, which may be habitats of numerous species of flora and fauna, leading to the decrease in local biodiversity. This type of repercussions to the local ecosystem would be irreversible and persistent. Therefore, in terms of long-term development, people have to spend a lot more effort and money than they used to earn in conserving and recovering the environment.

Overall, although exploiting natural places for fuels and energy may solve the problem of energy shortage in the short term, it causes dire destruction to the nature. Therefore, standing from a long-term perspective, its disadvantages outweigh the advantages.