With the rise of online communication, some people believe that face-to-face interaction is becoming obsolete. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What are the benefits and drawbacks of relying primarily on digital communication?

In today’s globalized world, it is widely accepted that one-on-one communication is becoming old-fashioned. I agree that face-to-face interaction is becoming obsolete due to technological advancements. However, I also contend that relying on online communication has benefits in terms of accessibility, and drawbacks on health.

First and foremost, the primary reason for my stance is that, nowadays, people tend to avoid real-time communication because they have opportunities to chat at a distance. This is especially beneficial for those who are afraid of eye contact and those who lack communication skills. Consequently, more and more people are starting to prefer digital conversations. For instance, social media platforms TikTok, as well as Instagram and Telegram, offer numerous ways in which people can talk. Compared to real-life chatting, in such applications, you can share thoughts via different emojis, memes, or even mini games.

On the other hand, this practice has potential advantages and disadvantages. In the present time, we have millions of them connected to the internet. Communication has become vastly easier than it was 20 years ago. Now we can simply open your phone, dial a personal contact, and talk to them whenever you want. However, Digital conversation harms both the emotional and physical state of a person. One compelling justification is that watching too much on smartphones severely damages your eyesight. Furthermore, an additional reason for my stance is that trends across social media may affect our psychological state. A pertinent example of this is Brainrot. This content is using its own language and expressions, which children think is good. However, such inappropriate language usage has proven to damage the language skills of a child. According to a Harvard psychology study, children at an early age absorb information rapidly; in percentages, their memory skills are 50% more efficient than an average adult.

To conclude, I am certain digital talking opportunities are becoming more prevalent. Nevertheless, such practice has both pros and cons in terms of accessibility and health-related concerns.