Working long hours causes a great deal of stress and can be very bad for the health. The government must find a way to reduce this type of stress. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Working a long time may lead to a stressful mind, which is detrimental to both physical health and psychological health. Some people hold the belief that the government has an obligation to tackle this problem. In my view, I completely agree with this idea.

It is clear that the overburden comes from a longer working time. If people are asked about working until late, they are more likely to lose their leisure time for rest necessary for gaining renewed energy. In such cases, people may become tired, impeding their working efficiency and then making more errors in work. Ultimately, they tend to hold a stressful mind when working. Such stress can lead to harmful impacts on individuals. One reason is that people working under high pressure may easily have a headache because of a scarcity of necessary rest, making them feel dizzy and discomfort all the time. Moreover, these stressed workers can lose the capability to gain happiness, which means they find their lives full of working hours, leading them to get stuck in work and find no hope for creating a more colorful life. As a result, they probably get depression.

To tackle this problem produced by a great deal of stress, the government can play a significant role. Initially, this pressure comes from labor exploitation, which means the employer may force employees to work until midnight, making them feel exhausted and anxious, leading stressful mind towards work. If the government can propose labor laws to punish those companies who take up the pastime of the workforce, showing as a deterrent, it may be possible to require most of the companies to nicely treat their workers, mitigating the issue of becoming stressed ultimately. Moreover, the government can empower people with the right to fight against the overburden of work, encouraging them to express directly to the employer about overusing their private time for work. Otherwise, people may find it challenging to refuse this unreasonable requirement for working. Thus, it may be beneficial to incorporate the government to help working people to reduce stress from long time work. Admittedly, it might be unrealistic and impractical to force the government to tackle the problem completely; and individuals need to adapt themselves to an intense working period, cultivating an optimistic mind towards work to reduce stress, but the duty of improving public health and reducing stress from unfair working treatments should fall on the government.

In conclusion, many people suffer stress from working long period of time, which is harmful to their health. It is the government’s responsibility to find a way to reduce such stress to enhance the physical and mental well-being of each one. Therefore, I completely support this opinion.