Write about the following topic: In some countries children have very strict rules of behaviour, while in other countries they are allowed to do almost anything they want. To what extent should children have to follow rules? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Imbibing discipline in children is one major task that some population uphold in high standards, closely monitoring their behaviors and reaction to given instructions. In contrast of this, kids are given room and freedom to express themselves without much caution. I believe that there should be a degree of flexibility while raising kids so has not to limit their potentials. My reasons will be elaborated in this essay.

On one hand, It is practically impossible to keep children in check at all times because it is the earliest learning stage of their lives and the are bound to make loads of mistakes while trying to satisfy their curiosities. Imposing strict rules on them might just be a waste of time since the construct of right and wrong has not really been established fully in them. However, it is best to be willing to correct them every time they do the wrong things. For example, raising ones voice at a two year old for wrong doings might seem like a waste of time but, the texture and volume of the voice will register in the child’s mind and next time the child is faced to make a choice in similar situations, they might choose better because of fear of being scolded.

On another hand, setting out rules and attaching a punishment for breaking or reward for following it will seem like a better option, For instance, in most African and Asian countries, children are expected to follow rules to the letter and whenever any child breaks any rule, adequate physical punishment is given to the child to serve as a regular reminder. This makes African and Asian children arguably more disciplined than the rest of the world.

In conclusion, children should be made to follow rules strictly because it helps their decision making capacity when they become grownups and it also makes them better law abiding citizens.