Write about the following topic: In the last decade, there has been a great increase in global air travel. What do you think are the reasons for this and do you think it is a good thing? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience

Travelling across the world has become increasely popular during the past ten years. I believe the major catalysts of the drive are the globalization and increased facilities in air travel. Moreover, I consider this as a positive situation as it enables many employment opportunities and cultural underestanding among people. This essay will discuss these reasons behind increased air travel and the reasons to consider it as a good thing.

The visits to foreign countries can be considered as a trend at present as a result of globalization and increased facilities. Firstly, globalization has offered opportunities for people to communicate and get to know the people outside of the country. That increases the mutual underestanding between nations, and instigate people to travel to other countries particularly in vacations. Additionally, unlike earlier times, even the young people are not afraid to travel alone to other countries as a result of globalization. Secondly, nowadays, people have more access to flight bookings and accomodation finding in any part of the world. For instance, a person staying in the USA can reserve a hotel in Sri Lanka with several clicks. This opens doors not only to rich people but also to the medium class people, to explore more and find the most appropiate package for them while traveling. Therefore, the understanding between nations as a result of globalization, and the increased facilities to choose travel options have paved the way to the increased global air travel in the recent past.

Regarding the impacts of the increased global travel, it can be identified as a positive scenario due to increased employment opportunities and cross-cultural awareness. Taking employment opportunities into account, the local people of a country get chance to either launch their own business, and work for tourist hotels while having a good income. For example, someone willing to be self-employed can make different ornaments from natural resources of the country and sell them to the visitors for a good price. This strengthens not only the financial stability of individuals, but also the economy of the country. Regarding the awareness of other cultures, visitors can both get to know and experience the living standards, dresses, food and religious backgrounds of other nations through traveling to other countries. This may lead to less conflicts between countries and can be identified as a timely need at present. Therefore, considerng the mentioned economical and social aspects, the global air travel can be considered as a good thing.

To sum up, people tend to travel more over the world due to the underestanding provided through globalization, and increased travel oppurtunities. This situation leads to more economic stability of countries, and less conflicts between the regions, and therefore, can be considered as a positive trend.