Write about the following topic: Many major cities are facing a housing crisis as they cannot provide enough land for new buildings. Some local governments believe the problem could be solved by reassigning park land for residential development, because this land would be better used for housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Overpopulated cities are becoming a serious problem for the officials in urban planning. Governments had tried to solve this problem by building a housing complex for homeless people, but this solution alone is still not enough. The housing problem in extremely overpopulated city like Jakarta can not be solved by simply converting public parks into more housing areas. As the population continues to grow and more outsiders come to large cities each year, the problem will soon rise again.

These green areas and city forests in metropolitan cities are built on purpose, as they are needed to produce oxygen and absorb pollution in the city. Most of this public parks are also used as recreational areas. Nowadays, parks in cities are already becoming smaller, due to more office buildings being built each year.

If governments converted these open areas into a residential complex, it would cause more pollution problem and make the city even more crowded. Furthermore, it would cause massive health issues to the population in that area.

However, rather than turning these green open areas into housing complex. Governments should convert rural areas and underdeveloped section in the city into apartment buildings in order to accommodate more people in limited spaces. Governments should also continuously expand and further develop the city to accommodate the rising amount of population. By building residential houses vertically and creating new urban areas, the population would have just enough space to live comfortably in crowded cities.

By doing so, the housing crisis will be solved for at least the next 5 to 10 years, without sacrificing the needs of healthy environment for its residents.