Write about the following topic: The internet has changed the way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development. Others believe that social media have negative effects. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The invention of the internet has radically changed the way people interact forever, as most communications nowadays are conducted through social media. Despite some emphasizing it’s benefits, others argue that it has catastrophic consequences. This essay discusses both views, and explains why I believe the benefits of social media outweigh the drawbacks.

Most people who emphasize the benefits of social media as a means of communication rationalize it by emphasizing how applications like Facebook, X, or Telegram have eased our communication. They believe that if it weren’t for social media, people would have a hard time interacting with each other. Moreover, they explain that social media has allowed for people to easily connect with others from their past, make new friends, meet strangers with mutual benefits to connect for a better growth, and many more. For instance, there have been different surveys conducted in the US, showing a large number of young people to have a date and start romantic relationships using social media.

The advantages of social media are not without it’s pitfalls. Most argue that the emergence of these platforms have opened the door for online sexual predators, sociopaths and psychopaths to pray on their victims effortlessly. To illustrate, they mention the incidence of child pornography over the internet in which the actors are recruited using any of these media outlets. In addition, they boldly indicate how social media has led to familial and social fragmentation as a result of poor verbal communication amongst the members of these important pillars of a nation. They state that most children, for instance prefer to have a chat with their peers on Facebook, than have a civilized conversation with their parents. This may lead to a detached family, impact the growth of children, and potentially affect their future.

Overall, this essay discussed the two contrasting ideas that favor and oppose the use of social media, each group citing the advantages and disadvantages, respectively. In my opinion, social media if used with conscious deliberation, and appropriate guidance for minors, it has far more benefits than drawbacks. If we completely abolish these systems, I believe it would mean regressing back our growth and development by 50 to 100 years backwards. The effects extend from individuals to communities, a nation, and the international system. The ease of communication that comes with the different types of social media have made interactions significantly easier and smoother; from the types that would lead to romantic relationships among individuals on Tinder to large business meetings conducted through Zoom meetings that would potentially affect millions.