Write about the following topic: Unhealthy eating has a negative effect on both individuals and the society in which they live. Some people think that the government should tax unhealthy foods while others believe that a 'fat tax' is unfair and unnecessary. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Health has always been a prevalent issue among society. To enforce healthy eating, some people support the government initiative of a ‘fat tax,’ while others believe that it is not required. This essay explores both views before stating my personal perspective, which aligns with the first argument.

The proponents of a ‘fat tax’ take health seriously and are looking for practical solutions to discourage people from eating junk food. Nowadays, it seems quite convenient to grab a bite of food on the go, from the petrol station or fast-food restaurants, which is negatively affecting people’s health. For example, challenging lifestyles and work stress have made it incredibly difficult for working mothers to cook nutritious meals at home. This, as a result, is exposing the younger generation to many health issues and challenges. Hence, people believe that the tax will imply some sort of check and balance on the consumption of unhealthy food, which can be discouraging for both consumers and sellers.

On the other hand, the opponents of this opinion argue that this will cause inconvenience for buyers and is harmful for businesses, which will cause a domino effect on the economy. People against the tax argue that the government should not add more tax, as it is uncalled for, and people can make their own decisions about the type of food they wish to consume.

To conclude both arguments and state my opinion, I believe that it is the responsibility of the government to take care of the health and well-being of the country. Therefore, they should take legislative measures to promote a healthy lifestyle, which will eventually lead to less expenditure on healthcare and is a more sustainable approach for both health and businesses.