Write an essay about advantages and disadvantages when residing in urban area at least 250 words

Living in cities has benefits and problems. Some of the benefits are the access to social amenities with ease and cultural interaction. The challenges arising from this are undeniable.

On the one hand, staying in urban centres has some challenges. Firstly, numerous people are living in shanties due to lack of houses. Many urban areas record the highest population of people from diverse communities leading to housing problem, as a result of this, individuals are living in areas that are not conducive. For instance, many people are living in slums called Kibra in Kenya, due to shortage of houses. Secondly, increase in criminal activities due to lack of employment.

On the other hand, staying in urban areas has enormous benefits. First, people access social amenities easily. Unlike rural areas, cities have developed hospitals, like Kenyatta Referal Hospital in Kenya helps those who are sick to secure quality medical services, good schools like Alliance boys and girls high school which admits students from all parts of the country. The other merit is the interaction from people from diverse communities. Most urban centres are cosmopolitan, because the population is derived different communities.Because of this, people interact and therefore appreciates other people’s culture.

In conclusion, living in town is multifaceted since it has both disadvantages and advantages. Some of the advantages are, interaction among people is enhanced as well as the accessibility to social amenities like schools. It also has a disadvantages like the housing problem and many people turn to be criminals due to lack of employment.