You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some people believe that animal experiments are bad and should be outlawed. However, some argue that animal experiments can help revolutionarize important scientific discoveries. Since animals, especially mammals are the most similar creature to human, I believe animal experiments can immensely help on scientific researches. However, there should a be a strict policies that regulate animal experimentation so it would not be torturous for the animals.

Since animal shares similarities physiologically to human, using animal as the object of experiments specifically for health-related scientific researches allow scientists to see the effects on a living creature. For example, there is a revolution in cancer treatments that managed to reverse the cancer cells in a rat back into ‘the good cells’. This discovery is a huge milestone in cancer medication because previously the only option available to beat cancer cells were chemotherapy. However, with destroying cancer cells, chemotherapy medication also kills the good cells inside the body which cause patient’s overall health to deteriorate. Nevertheless, there should be a clear regulations on animal experiments to make sure that people use animal in research for a good use based on the researcher’s hypothesis and theories. Additionally, animals should not be severely harmed or tortured during the experiments.

However, there is alternatives for animal testing. The most common way is to follow content regulation for each components to make sure there will be no harmful effects. This practice is widely used in makeup and skincare brands nowadays since more consumers are now aware with harmful practice of animal testing. Not only that it improves better life quality to the animals, the animal testing logo also becomes a good value to the brand which often attracts customers.

In conclusion, I still believe that animal experiments can be helpful and is needed, however it is important to have clear regulations on the practice. Also, if there is another alternatives, it is better to avoid doing animal experimentation.