You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

The impact of modern technology on human relations has sparked debate. Several people think technology brings everybody together, while others have a complete opposite opinion stating it creates distance. In this essay, I will discuss both viewpoints and give my own opinion.

On the one hand, technology comes with several benefits, as it enables instant communication. For instance, people in the past had to send messages through letters, which took days and sometimes weeks to reach, but in todays era, advance methods have changed everything by reducing the time from days to seconds. Social media platforms and messaging apps have made it possible for friends and family to stay in touch with each other. Growing popularity of Facebook, WhatsApp and Instagram speaks volumes, as they have become extra ordinary tools for communication and reducing the gap. Moreover, Platforms like Video conferencing and skype have made remote work more efficient, providing opportunities globally and building relationships overseas.

On the other hand, it comes with its challenges too. Friends and family are connected to each other all the time on socials, which makes them not have the urge to meet in person, creating awkwardness due to gap and social anxiety. A study found that excessive social media could lead to feeling of loneliness, depression and anxiety.

In my opinion, technology does make people grow apart, and also make them fond of each other. While it has opened new means to stay connected, but technology has ways to make one feel isolated. The key lies in striking a balance between usage of social media and face to face interactions. This tells us that impact of social platforms depends on how one uses it.