You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some systems require students to specialize in a limited range of subjects from the age of fifteen. Other systems require students to study a wide range of subjects until they leave school. What are the benefits of these two education systems and which is better? You should write at least 250 words.

In some schooling systems, students are required to study limited variety of subjects after they reach fifteen years of age, while other systems require the students to study wider variety of subjects until they graduate from school. The former allows the students to select the subjects they are interested in and drop the subjects that they don’t want to study further, while the latter allows the students freedom to keep exploring all kinds of subjects rather than forcing them to choose a few. I believe, the latter system is better as in my view, because it provides freedom to students to explore all subjects without age restrictions.

The school systems requiring students to specialize in a limited range of subjects from the age of fifteen have their own benefits. By the age of fifteen, many students already know what subjects they are interested in. For example, some students develop interest in computers at an early age and they later know the subjects they need to focus on to specialize in computer engineering further. This system thus allows them to specialize in those specific subjects, instead of studying all other kinds of subjects which could prove a wastage of time for them and they might also feel less motivated to make efforts to study such subjects. Studying limited subjects could also help them in the long run, as when they apply for higher education in universities they can showcase their excellence in the respective subjects which could be related to the degree they are applying for.

On the other hand, there are benefits to studying a wider range of subjects. Some students might not know what their areas of interest are or what they want to specialize in, later in their lives. This system provides them with the freedom to explore a variety of subjects and allows them to take their decision once they leave school. For example, some students might believe they are interested in a subject like biology, but may not find it interesting enough in later years since until the age of fifteen students are taught a very limited knowledge of the subject, while in later years it is explored much more extensively. Thus, they can later choose to not continue studying this subject or specializing in it after school.

In conclusion, although both systems have their own benefits, I believe the system requiring students to study a wider range of subjects is better as it helps a larger number of students, as students who do not know their interests may compromise the subjects they might have wanted to study.