You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In the late 20th century humanity reached a point in pharmaceuticals that started an ongoing battle with fatal diseases hence the longevity of an average human.This correlates to many problems and benefits to society.

First and foremost,having a high old population causes a low number of available workforce for the government and to grow as a society one would need a great amount of working hands.The other problem is that the older generation will consume a lot of the newer generation’s time and energy because of their needs to be looked after.

On the other hand,having experienced a lot more than younger people,elderly people have a lot to offer in terms of advice and can help others to have more stable mental health. For instance having someone to talk to is really beneficial for those who are suffering from anxiety attacks and can help them improve and have a more fruitful life.

Even though the elderly can have a better impact on society there is another factor to be put in perspective,how much input they can have in our decision making?Do we base our every choice on their experiences?Or can we use only some of their knowledge and walk our own path? In my humble opinion I believe there is a fine line between these two answers.We need to be able to know when and where to use their expertise and where to use our own ingenuity to solve our problems.

To wrap things up I believe that we should use elderly advice only to help us to see the problems and situations from a different perspective and not to use it as a baseline for all of our answers to every question we face in our lifetime,since it is our life and we got freedom of choice,but we must be able to live with the choices we make whether we took it by ourselves or with the help of our elders.