You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. People believe that they should be able to keep all the money they earn and should not pay tax to the state. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

The notion of keeping all earned money is a relatively appealing one, especially that taxes feel burdensome and reduce income. However, taxes are essential for the general public and for the government to maintain the society’s well being.

Firstly, taxes serve as the first income for governments to deal with healthcare, education, infrastructure, and security. Without tax revenue, governments would find it arduous to provide these essential treatments, leading to a lower quality of life and widening inequality. For example, countries with well funded healthcare systems, like the UK provide free or affordable health treatment to all citizens. This serves as a crucial benefit for the society and may also alleviate a lot of stress on tax payers.

Additionally, tax revenues allow countries to invest in infrastructure, such as roads, buildings and domestic sites. These are undoubtedly pivotal for the flourish of countries and their well being. Not only do they serve as priorities for nationals but they also serve as incentives for tourism, improving the country’s economic growth. For instance, the famous building in Dubai makes it one of the most visited landmarks in the world.

In my opinion, while people understandably want to keep more of their earnings, taxes are a necessary means of pooling resources for the greater good. A fair and transparent tax system ensures that everyone contributes to the public services that enable a functioning society. Rather than eliminating taxes, governments should focus on ensuring efficient use of tax revenues and creating a fair tax system where the burden is shared equitably.