You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people think that in modern society individuals are becoming more dependent on each other, while others say that individuals are becoming more independent of each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

People living in modern society are exposed to various culture and lifestyle options. Many people argue that modern society has created dependency among each other, while others believe that it has strengthened individuals to be more independent. I agree with the latter opinion, because modernisation has not ony unlocked innumerable opportunities but also ways to accomplish ones’ dream.

Individuals in modern society are under constant pressure to keep up with the constantly evolving society. Additionally, if people could not continuously adapt to the new mechanics of modernization they tend to depend on others. For instance, due to new trends which are set-up almost on a daily basis, the teenagers in this modern era are seeking validations from others through social media or other platforms. This creates dependency among them which has a negative impact.

On the other hand, due to modernization, people develop a sense of self-confidence, liberty and equality. Moreover, everyone has the resources to access their desired path. For example, modern society has widened the outlook on traditional rules imposed on women in rural society. Furthermore, it has also led to increased opportunities for them to achieve their goal. This has led to people becoming more independent of each other.

In conclusion, modernization of society has both pros and cons. Although it causes social pressure and need for validation from others , it also leads to democratic and open mindedness among individuals. As a result, everyone is treated the same and given equal options, which helps people become independent of each other.