You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Today our communications, medicine and transport systems all depend on computer technology. Our reliance on computer technology in these fields has created a dangerous situation. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, crucial systems that we use daily such as transportation, communication and medical systems are dependent on computer systems. This essay completely agrees with the argument that this reliance poses a dangeours threat towards humanity. Because in an event of computer systems stop working, there is a substantial risk towards human lives. Also, dependance of important systems on computers poses a risk for data theft as well.

Every major system that we use today is connected to computer systems. It can be seen as putting all of our eggs in a single basket, which is too risky. When these systems are down, it poses a great threat to humanity. Planes cannot land, electricity in hospitals can be cut or traffic lights can stop working, which all pose threats to human lives. For example in the summer of 2024, Windows systems stopped working due to an employee error and worldwide trade had to stop for several hours. These types of events make reliance on one single system too risky.

On the other hand, in the most countries, bureucratic and financial processes are handled on the internet. It means that most of our important data are in online. With cyber attacks, these data can be accessed by data thefts. For example, five years ago a cyber attack was done towards a large Turkish bank. Many people reported thieves lent money on their behalf during the night and transferred this money to other proxy accounts. This created substantial legal and financial problems towards many people and firms.

To conclude, dependance of systems such as transportation, and communication creates a risk for human lives in the case of systems being down. Also, it poses a risk for cyber attacks and data theft as well.