You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people think that in modern society individuals are becoming more dependent on each other, while others say that individuals are becoming more independent of each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

One of the debatable concepts of today’s world is dependency in modern society. A number of people claim that people in modern communities depending on each other for their survival is just an argument. However, some disagree and argue that people are becoming independent of each other. In this discussion, I will explain both stances before presenting my agreement with the latter view.

The proponents of dependency in modern society express their support with valid grounds. A simple explanation is age, which progresses and makes people dependent on their offspring. To expound, in this developing world, due to problems like obesity, elderly people are becoming weak easily, making them dependents in their middle age. For example, a 50-year-old man suffering from hypertension and diabetes must depend on his son for his medications and diet. In addition, joblessness will also drive older people to seek financial support from their children. Thus, these are viable reasons to accept this viewpoint.

Conversely, those who think the new world is making everyone live on their own offer plentiful reasons to support their perspective. First, advancements in technology are making us less dependent on others. For example, the internet has answers for our problems, making us self-sufficient. Artificial intelligence has made our learning curve smoother and lessened our dependency on teachers of technology. Furthermore, the need to attend classes has also made us less dependent because of online resources. In short, the explanations above show why people are becoming independent in this world.

It is apparent from the discussed points that both views have their own explanations, which creates disagreements. I, however, am inclined to believe the modern world is making us self-sufficient and have explained the reasons above.