Young people are often influenced by their peers. This is called peer group pressure. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Adolecents can have influence in each other as we call it peer group pressure. This phenomenon can have some benefits and drawbacks. Moreover, I hold a belief that disadvantages outweight advantages.

To begin with, teenagers could have impacts on each other. It is argued by some that it would help them to socialise more effectively. Owing to the fact that when they are influenced by their peers, they have more similarities with them. As a result, they would feel more comfortable and confident in these social groups, due to the fact that they can fit in. This would help them for other social interactions in their future. Additionally, they can be encouraged by their friends for some postive activites, such as studing . For instance, if one of their peers study, in order to be accepted in a good educational establishment, thy would be motivated to do the same because of peer group pressure.

On the flip side, although it may motivate them to to copy good behaivours, they could be encouraged for self-destructive behaivoursas well, including using drugs. For example, It is reported that the most of young people start smoking because of their friends. Furthermore, peer group pressure can affect adolecents in the wey that they do not accept their parnts’ advices, as there are some potential differences between parents’ opinion and their peers’ opinion. This would prevents parents from guiding and helping their children. Consequently, peer group pressure’ disadvantages outweight advatages.

In counclusion, we should teach our children to not be influenced by their peers, as it can have bad effects on their lives in the long run.