Young people who commit serious crimes, such as a robbery or a violent attack should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years , in fact, the number of underage teenagers committing crimes is increasing, causing a debate about whether they should take the same responsibility as adults does. I agreed with this statement.

While Some people may argue that juvenile still under the transition to adolescent, meaning that they are immature to offend and that they shouldn’t be punished as rigours as adults. Conversely, most young people have obvious intentions and detailed planning when committing crimes, they fully understand of what they do. Considering the victims of profound consequences in mentally and psychologically which can accompany with them for lifetime, these impacts are irreversible, causing PTSD, even worse. Taking an example of an America student who murdered his classmates for argument. Hence, age is not a determining factor for escaping sentence, everyone should be fair to be punished for their actions. Otherwise, young people may offend again because of relatively lower punishment.

Nevertheless, no matter it is a long or short sentence, only with punishment is can’t hinder the criminal opportunities, education is more imperative for them to reshape correct values, reducing the chance of recidivism.

In conclusion, I concur that young people committing crimes should be punished as adults, increasing cost of crime.