✅TASK 2: Nowadays, children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time doing sports. Why is this happening? Is this a positive or negative development ?

With the increasing number of technologies, children get addicted to spending most of their time on games than sports due to appealing nature of games. While there are clearly some reasons that can explain why this is the case, I firmly believe that this is the change for the worse.

The reasons why children ignore sports are varied. The most compelling reason is the prevalence of technology. In today’s modern world, children have access to various devices ranging from smartphones to computers, and others. Computer games are available most of the time, which can lead young people to avoid engaging in sports as games are more interesting. As a result, they are likely to become physically weak and unhealthy because of paying attention to entertainment. Another potent reason is the lack of safe spaces. In some areas, there are limited playgrounds or sport facilities as some children behave badly in such places, breaking special equipment, which are needed to exercise. Therefore, children have no chance but to entertain themselves with playing computer games. Take China as an example, where the majority of young people have their own devices as it is the center of technologies. However, there are also sport facilities in this country, which means that children can enjoy both devices and sport.

Nonetheless, I believe that this trend brings more harm than better. The most obvious consequence is health. By sitting in one place for long hours, children might face some risks, such as obesity and eye strain due to inactivity. According to the doctors all over the world, they said that “If people lacks in terms of physical activity, they are likely to suffer from obesity one day”, while ” When teenagers play games for long hours, their eyes get tired, which can cause eye strain”. This means that youngsters lose their overall health very early. Moreover, children sitting long hours with playing their devises might run out of essential opportunities. This is simply because doing sports is the best way to develop teamwork, communication and cooperation, which can help children to become more open to expressing their own ideas without fear. However, instead of doing physical activity, children do like making them satisfied with playing computer games, which creates a gap between them and their friends.

In conclusion, although children spend quite a lot of time on playing games to entertain themselves due to the advent of technologies and lack of spaces to exercise, I would contend that this trend is harmful to young people’s overall health and they are not able to build connections with others.