1. A rise in the standard of living in a country often only seems to benefit cities rather than rural areas. What problems can this cause? How might these problems be reduced?

In the modern world, where living standards are higher than ever, there exists a trend to move to a bigger city for a more comfortable life. This can be the reason for various problems such as overpopulation of cities and absolute abandonment of the countryside. There are also a few solutions for these issues.

One of the main shortcomings of an increase in expectation of standards of living is a refusal to live in rural areas by young people. In the villages there are no items necessary for a comfortable life, such as the Internet, air conditioning or heater. Therefore, in the current moment in the countryside live only the elderly and even if there are several young people, they all want to move to a modern city. It entailed that many houses were abandoned and within some period of time a village faced a similar fate. Moreover, growth in the population of large cities brings a strain on infrastructure: more houses should be built, more energy should be produced, more water should be delivered. In addition, the larger the cities become, the less convenient it is to move from one end of the city to the other to work, to study or to visit friends.

To solve this issue the government could offer the abandoned houses to people. Life in big cities is comfortable as well as expensive and if people can’t afford an apartment in the city they can move to much cheaper options, such as free houses in the countryside. Furthermore, rural areas should be more appealing to young and middle-age people. It can be done if the government constructs schools, kindergartens, hospitals there and provides a mobile connection, Internet, medicines and other necessary products.

In conclusion, a rise in the standard of living caused a risk that young people leave rural areas high and dry. Besides, it induced overpopulation of cities. These are serious problems and unless the government can make the countryside more appealing, it would be completely abandoned.