A highly competitive environment is believed to be good for both studying and working. Drawing on this, what is your opinion on the benefits and drawbacks of such an environment?

Last few decades showed that competitiveness for both students and working population is supposed to be good. From my point of view, this statement is partly correct as competitive environment is not suitable for everyone.

On the one hand, it is crucial to work and study in competition. If and individual has ever found him or herself in a group of people who constantly improve their skills and acquire good results, in most cases he or she start to catch up with the group. Also, it is worth to mention that this phenomenon boosts the overall performance and outcomes of the group as every member of that team do not want to be outsider.

On the other hand, competition in different activities, such as work and studying may lead to conflicts. Those one who become an outsider can envy the others and influence on overall group or individual productivity via framing colleagues, that takes higher rating position. As a result, the atmosphere in the team becomes cold and unwelcoming. Another fact can be drawn is that one may lose any interest to their duties. Comparing him or herself with the others all the time end up anxious and unsatisfied with the work and stop trying at all. Moreover, these employee or students will always get burnout.

In conclusion, I believe that while some individuals fell themselves motivated and satisfied with competitive atmosphere with their friends and colleagues, for most of other it would be not a good idea as it is mentally hard to study or work under such conditions. Therefore, membership collaboration and supportive atmosphere are the best drivers of the good results.